Scientific Advisory Board

Paula Marques ALVES , PhD, CEO of IBET; Director of the Animal Cell Technology Unit of IBET/ITQB; Professor at the FCT-NOVA University Lisbon; PhD in Biochemical Engineering (2001). Vice-President of ESACT; Member of the Horizon 2020 Advisory Group for Group for Health, demographic change and well-being. Paula Alves has been using Animal Cell Technology for R&D for production of complex biopharmaceuticals (viral vectors, vaccines and rec proteins) and stem cells. She expanded bioengineering approaches to develop 3D in vitro models for pre-clinical research using primary cultures and stem cells. Currently she serves as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Biotechnology.
Email: Paula M. Alves
Webpages:, CV link

Michael J. BETENBAUGH is Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Johns Hopkins University. He is a researcher in the area of cell engineering for mammalian and insect cell biotechnology specializing in protein expression, apoptosis, glycosylation, metabolism, cell cycle, and chaperones. Dr. Betenbaugh received the Young Investigator Award from National Science Foundation, the James Van Lanen Award from the American Chemical Society, and the Cell Culture Engineering Award this year. He was a founding member of the Society of Biological Engineering and he currently serves as an Associate Editor for the journal, Biotechnology and Bioengineering.
Email: Michael J. Betenbaugh
Institute Homepage: Betenbaugh Lab

Ann DEPICKER is professor at the Ghent University in the VIB Plant Systems Biology department . In her career she worked on the functional analysis of Ti plasmids, the use of Agrobacterium as plant genome engineer, on T-DNA integration patterns and the correlation with the occurrence of post transcriptional gene silencing. Currently, her group is focusing on the production of antibodies and immunogens in plants, more in particular on the development of an anti ETEC feed additive for weaned piglets, the evaluation of therapeutic IgA antibodies against RSV, the production of innovative vaccine fusions for mucosal immunization, and glycoengineering of the plant seed platform. Besides, Ann Depicker is head of the Ghent University department Plant Biotechnology and Bio-informatics, and coordinates the teaching of the professors in the department.
Institute Homepage:

Steve WITHERS is the Khorana Professor of Chemistry and Biological Chemistry, and the Tier 1 Canada Research Chair of Chemical Biology at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. His research roots are in mechanistic enzymology and carbohydrate chemistry and biochemistry, with a particular focus upon glycosidases and glycosytransferases. More recently he has been applying the tools of site-directed mutagenesis and directed evolution to the generation of novel catalysts for the assembly of oligosaccharides. He now serves as director of UBC's Centre for High-throughput Biology (CHiBi) and co-director of the new Graduate Program in Genome Science and Technology (GSAT).
Email: Steve Withers
Institute Homepage:
Bojan Zagrovic is a Professor of Molecular Biophysics at University of Vienna. He obtained a bachelor's degree in biochemistry from Harvard University and PhD in biophysics from Stanford University. After an EMBO Postdoctoral Fellowship in the group of Wilfred F. van Gunsteren at ETH Zurich, he became a group leader and scientific director at the Mediterranean Institute for Life Sciences in Split Croatia. Since 2010, he has been leading a research group and teaching at University of Vienna. His interests include theoretical and computational analysis of biomolecular dynamics and interactions and, in particular, RNA-protein interactions. He has been awarded the START Prize of the Austrian Research Fund FWF and is the member of the Junge Kurie of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.
Email: Bojan Zagrovic
Institute Homepage: